The 2015 Osman C. Hooper Weekly Newspaper Contest and the 2015 Ohio Collegiate Newspaper competition registration will begin on August 1, 2014.  Entries can be made using the Better BNC online contest platform at

Complete instructions for submitting your Hooper weekly entries can be found here. The fee for each entry remains at $8.00.

Entries are judged by newspaper circulation.  Depending on the number of newspapers entered, they will be divided equally into at least four circulation divisions.

Named for one of the first university journalism professors in Ohio, who was also instrumental in the founding of ONA, the Osman C. Hooper Newspaper Awards is an activity of ONA’s Weekly Newspaper Committee.  The committee members are Mary Huber, Archbold Buckeye, chair; Diane Chiddister, Yellow Springs News; Doug Dixon, ThisWeek Community News, Columbus; Beverly Keller, The Budget, Sugarcreek; David Keller, Morgan County Herald; Jerry Mossbarger, The Telegram, Jackson; and Erica Peterson, Record Publishing Co., Kent.

Instructions for the Collegiate competition can be found here. There are no entry fees for the collegiate competition.

The contest period for both competitions is August 1, 2013 through July 31, 2014.

The deadline for submitting Hooper entries is Friday, October 3, 2014.  Winners will be honored during a presentation at the ONA Convention, February 11-12 at the Hilton Columbus Polaris.   Notification to the winners will be made by early January.

The ONA Weekly Newspaper Committee is also asking for suggestions for topics to be discussed at the Weekly Roundtable breakout sessions at the upcoming 2015 ONA convention.  Any suggestions/comments can be made to any committee member or to Sue Bazzoli at ONA.

Questions about the Hooper Awards or the Collegiate competition should be directed to Sue Bazzoli, manager of administrative services, at ONA or 614-486-6677 ext. 1018.

Share →