ONA is proud to announce the winners of the 2014 Ohio Newspapers Foundation scholarships. Each of the six scholarships is $1,500 for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Harold K. Douthit Regional Scholarship:   Joseph F. Ginley, John Carroll University

Joseph Ginley is a sophomore at John Carroll University, where he majors in communications. Joseph is a sports writer for the university award-winning college newspaper, The Carroll News, and will become the managing editor this fall.

Joseph started writing for his high school newspaper and yearbook.  He entered an essay contest to be a “Tribe Reporter for a Day,” and won.  Far from shy in contacting many nationally known people, his recent interviews include Don Shula, Jim Tressel and Brian Hoyer.  As a freelance writer, Joseph has written for The Plain Dealer and Spartan Nation Magazine.

Minority Scholarship: Alisa Warren, Van Buren High School

Alisa Warren plans to study journalism at either Ohio University or Bowling Green State University this fall.

Alisa was a leader among her media writing class that established the first high school biweekly online newspaper, The Knight Writer, in 2012.  She has been the newspaper editor for the past two years and continues to write, tackling challenging issues including a local homicide documentary, the legalization of marijuana, and human trafficking.  Alisa was among the few applicants selected to attend both the Ohio University high school journalism workshop and the Indiana University high school journalism institute providing her professional experience in both print and broadcast journalism.

Ohio Newspapers Women’s Scholarship:  Anna Dembowski, Cedarville University

Anna, a junior at Cedarville University, is majoring in journalism.  She has been an arts and entertainment reporter for the Cedars campus newspaper and recently accepted the position of assistant campus news editor.

Anna wants to be a print journalist.  She is pursuing journalism because it is the field that allows her to act both on her love for research and her natural ability for reporting.  When Anna becomes a newspaper professional, she hopes to report on a demographic not often reported on such as people living near the potato fields of Idaho or the islands of Alaska.

University Journalism Scholarships:

Trevor Brown, Wittenberg University

Trevor is a junior majoring in political science and English, with a minor in journalism.  Trevor’s aspiration of becoming an investigative journalist has been cultivated and nurtured during his time at Wittenberg University.

Trevor is currently a staff writer for the student-run newspaper, The Torch, and has written hard-news stories, feature stories, movie reviews, and editorials.  This summer he will be writing state-level political stories for the Columbus Free Press.  He is also active in the Springfield community, helping out local political candidates and interning at the Hagen Center for Civic and Urban Engagement.

Abigail Nickel, The University of Findlay

Abbey, a junior, is majoring in journalism at The University of Findlay.  She is editor of The Pulse, the student newspaper and reports on tough news stories, writes a column, and is focused on producing a weekly newspaper.

Last summer Abbey covered breaking news, follow-up stories and features for WSYX ABC-6 in Columbus.  While interning in Columbus she also worked with the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation on communication-based projects.  This summer she will work with the Evansville Courier & Press as a feature writer.

Samantha Rhodes, The University of Toledo

Sarah, a sophomore, is double majoring in communication and English with a concentration in journalism.  Sarah is the managing editor for the university’s newspaper, The Independent Collegian. Previously she held the roles of news editor and features editor.

Along with having a good command over the English language, Sarah hopes to turn her dream of writing a novel into reality.  Her academic efforts have put her on both the UT President’s and Dean’s lists for academic excellence.  Although not required, she has studied the SPJ Code of Ethics in her determination to do all she can to prepare for a career in journalism.

The ONA would also like to thank this year’s scholarship judges:

  • Frank Deaner, Retired ONA Executive Director
  • David Dix, Dix Communications, Kent
  • Ken Douthit, Douthit Communications, Sandusky
  • Richard Morris, The Daily Standard, Celina
  • Emily Chambers, Dayton Daily News
  • Jill Nevels-Haun, The News-Messenger, Fremont
  • Erica Peterson, Record Publishing Company, Kent
Share →