Complete Story


2020 Carrier of the Year winners

The Ohio News Media Association and the ONMA Circulation Committee are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 ONMA Carrier of the Year Awards. The awards recognize outstanding newspaper carriers from across Ohio.

The winners are:

Over 25K Circulation: Evan KleveEvan Kleve, Cleveland Plain Dealer

Evan Kleve has been a newspaper carrier for nearly five years. He grew up in a musical family in Bay Village, Ohio. He has been a musician his entire life and attended Cleveland State University. Evan has performed with prestigious musicians and ensembles, including world championship finalist Bluecoats Drum and Bugle Corps, Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra, Forest Park String Quartet, Clocks In Motion percussion ensemble, and world-renowned rock singer Geoff Tate. He has taught many private students over the years and is currently on the teaching staff of the St. Edward Marching Eagles.

10K to 25 K Circulation: Tyler Horstman, The Courier (Findlay)

Tyler Horstman has been a carrier for four years. He is an honor student at Findlay High School, where he is also a varsity swimmer and a member of the song and dance team. He is also a Boy Scout working on his Eagle Scout ranking, a member of Junior Statesman and Junior Achievers, and a lifeguard at the local YMCA. He plans to use his award money to help pay for college.




Under 10K Circulation: Mark Kunstmann, Bowling Green Sentinel Tribune

Mark Kunstmann has been a carrier for more than 21 years. During that time he has driven more than 750,000 miles delivering papers. In 2014 he received the Otterbein Portage Valley Retirement Community Service of the Year Award for the help and assistance he gave to residents there while delivering papers. He is an active member of his church and serves as league statistician and photographer for the Wood County Dartball League.

All winners will received $1000 along with an award. The Carrier of the Year Achievement Awards Program was established in 1952 to honor youth newspaper carriers throughout Ohio. Over the years, a number of changes have been made to enhance the program that is now known as the Ohio News Media Carrier of the Year Award. The program and annual awards banquet were originally named for the founder, Glenn L. Cox, former Circulation Manager of the Dayton Daily News.

This year's Carrier of the Year Award sponsors are:

  • Advantage Newspaper Consultants
  • AIM Media
  • Ogden Newspapers
  • Ohio Newspapers/Cox First Media
  • PDI Plastics
  • Plain Dealer
  • Prime Time Promotions
  • Schermerhorn Bros
  • Streel City Corp.
  • The Blade
  • Tribune Chronicle
  • Wilson Gregory Agency
  • Michael Zinser

Printer-Friendly Version