Ohio Newspaper Association

Advancing Ohio's newspapers and local journalism since 1933

Ona Circulation



Front-Line Management Training for District Managers

Transforming the District Manager's Role for Success

The district managers training on Thursday, April, 28, 2016 at OU - Pickerington Center was a great success!  There were 36 participants who attended a day-long training session focusing on independent contractors with Mike Zinser; tips on succession planning from Nick Monico, Civitas Media; distribution networks with Dave Johnson, Akron Beacon Journal; managing key metrics with Greg Meyers, The Crescent News, Defiance; and driving single copy sales with Jeff Lawson, Gannett Publishing.
A special thank you to the lunch sponsors.  We appreciate your support of the circulation managers!

Schermerhorn Bros Co


Subscriber Promotions

Downloadable training presentations (PDF format)

Mike Zinser, The Zinser Law Firm
Nick Monico, Civitas Media LLC
Greg Meyers, The Crescent News, Defiance
Jeff Lawson, Gannett Publishing Services


 Mike Zinser with Lisa Yaratch, Record Courier, Kent, participating in Judge Mike's session testing her on Ohio laws and recent court rulings.






    Mike Zinser discussing the many aspects of managing      
    independent contractors at the April 28 district managers








2016 Ohio Circulation Conference

October 2 and 3, 2016

Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center

100 Green Meadows Drive South

Lewis Center, OH  43035

Hotel and conference registration information coming soon!


Share your paper’s circulation ideas and earn chance at prizes along with more readers

The ONA’s Circulation Committee and Steel City Corp. are offering a fun, free and rewarding platform for sharing circulation/audience development promotions and ideas among our members. It’s a great way to not only earn prizes for your ideas but also to also learn from what others are doing. Participants will receive a booklet of all the ideas submitted at the 2016 Ohio Circulation Conference.

Go here for complete information, including each month's winning idea.



The 2015 Ohio Newspaper Association Carrier of the Year Award winners were announced Sunday, September 27 at the 2015 Ohio Circulation Conference. This year's winners are:

  • Cody Mason, Youth winner, The Courier, Findlay
  • Malysa Bell, Adult winner, Toledo Blade
  • Rosemary (Tobi) Cowles, Senior winner, Toledo Blade



Circulation Associate Members

Thank you for your support!

Custom Business Systems

Schermerhorn Bros Co

Pdi Plastics




 TCN Logo  Telereach

Continental Products


 Marketing Solutions Group  

Wilson Gregory

 Subscriber Promotions  Harry Clarke  Circsellers
Prime Time Promotions Inc Steel City Corp  Cirtech


Impact Sales Solutions Inc

Hamilton Circulation Supplies  Ver A Fast


K Jack Engineering Company  




About the Ohio Circulation Managers Association

The functions of the Ohio Circulation Managers Association are now under the umbrella of the Ohio Newspaper Association. In June 2013, the ONA’s board of trustees voted unanimously on a resolution to accept the remaining assets of the Ohio Circulation Managers Association, which was disbanding.

The resolution stated the ONA’s intent to continue key activities of the OCMA, particularly its successful annual fall conference. A new ONA committee, the ONA Circulation Managers Committee, includes members of the most recent OCMA board.


To learn more about the activities of the ONA Circulation Managers Committee, contact:

Kim Wilhelm, Committee Chair
Findlay Courier

To provide information for the Circulation portion of ohionews.org or to submit circulation-related items for the Bulletin newsletter, contact:

Rob Jenney, ONA Circulation Managers Committee Website Chair
Findlay Courier
419-427-8499 or 419-722-6337